Want to target Chinese? You have to be on this platform!

Hi, my dearest followers. Time flies. This is almost the end of this semester. I just can’t say goodbye to you.

tumblr_m2r5m6ltNJ1qlvj5ko1_400tumblr_m7qjbwdloO1rziwwco1_500

Today, let’s talk about something I want to share with you for this whole semester.

I bet you have notice that there are more and more Chinese around you wherever you are. And since Chinese has stronger purchase power than ever, a lot of companies are now paying attention to this growing market.

As for digital marketers, here is one thing that we can never ignore to target Chinese——Wechat.

How popular is Wechat?

1.1 billion accounts, 500 million active users, 100 million users use Wechat outside of China, 10 million messages are processed per minute on New Year’s Eve through Wechat. ( Data updated 2015, from DMR )

new-queen-bee

What can Wechat do?

Basically, it is like a combination of Facebook, Instagram, Skype, Tinder, Uber, ApplePay and so on.

what.gif

You can text message your friend, or you can just talk to your friend by press the voice message button. Moreover, you can call your friends just like an at&t call or you can have a video call like Facetime. You can have a group talk or a private one. (Getting into those group is one of the things we can do to target)

And here is something that amaze me. You can have a Wallet in Wechat by bond your credit card (or debit). Then, you can recharge various bills, make some investment, call a cab just like Uber, shop online, pay for what you just eat, buy an airplane ticket or a movie ticket and so on. You can transfer your money to anyone or within your own accounts which is what Chase App can do. You can also use Quick Pay to do what Apple Pay can do.

What

Besides, you can search people nearby and say hi to them like Tinder. Or if you want to find someone actively, you can shake your phone, and Wechat will find you someone shake his or her phone at the same time with you nearby.

Say-what

There are also official accounts that people can follow on Wechat and they can push contents to you. That is definitely where marketers have to be to engage with customers.

Wechat also develop diverse games in it. I just can’t name all the functions of this “impossible invention”.

thor-2-reaction

It is because Wechat has so many amazing functions that Chinese people are now spend tons of time on it everyday!

No matter it is parents, grandparents or even primary school students, they all have a Wechat!

child_mobile_phone_toy

For me, I wake up with Wechat in my hand and I browse my Friends’ moments and Official Accounts I follow for an hour or more. I just asked in one of my Wechat groups with more than 200 people, and 32 of them came out and told me that they are the same with me.

Wechat has legs for sure! I love it so much that I can’t name even one minus of it except it occupied too much of my time.

Recommend it to your client? Absolutely YES!

Not only Chinese, Wechat now has various language settings and embedded with a convenient translator. It is becoming international! So, besides Facebook, Instagram and Twitter, I would recommend every brand to build an official Wechat account.

Put your QR code everywhere for customers to scan and follow. Be sure to have entertaining, educational or functional contents. When your followers up, it is easy to transfer interests into sales since Wechat has payment ability.

Isn’t it fascinating? Let’s do it now!

XOXO, my dear followers. I won’t say goodbye. Love you!

tumblr_m3d1tyZv9w1qchi0ho1_500Sad_Dicaprio

Leave a Reply

